Obamacare & International Health

I was, as a single person, not all that enthused about Obamacare until I realized that I qualified for free care. Not having had any health insurance for the last 10+ years of my life due to cost, learning that gave it a bit more luster. Now that I’m married, though, I no longer qualify for subsidies and the cost of insurance has gone up 4000%. Bummer. And of course, if I don’t purchase, penalties ensue. Fortunately, Stuart and I have decided to settle where he is now, in France. This will exempt us from having to enroll in Obamacare. Good thing, too, because if we both had to, we’d be talking around $8000 a year. Ridiculous! That money is better spent, in my opinion, on maintaining our good health through whole, healthy foods and alternative care, like bodywork and acupuncture, for well-being. That’s my two cents, but of course, each must come to his or her own conclusions.

Thing is, I’m not in France yet, and we’re not sure when things will be in place for that to happen. So, it seems I will be required to purchase health insurance or face the penalty consequences. Ironically, the penalty is based on AGI (Adjusted Gross Income) of household income. I don’t know anything about anything about any of this, but it sounds to me like the IRS is expecting me to report my nonresident alien spouse’s income to determine my penalty. Excuse me? He has absolutely no obligation to the US government to report his foreign income. He isn’t American! How can they justify penalizing me based on his income??? It’s messed up!

Aside from the tangle of US taxes and Obamacare, one of the things we are currently trying to figure out is whether Stuart can enroll me as his spouse on his insurance in France. We’re waiting for quotes from the insurer. If I need to hold a Cart de Sejour before being allowed to enroll, in other words, be permanently in France, then I will need some kind of international medical insurance in the interim. Fortunately, international insurance plans don’t cost $4000 a year like Obamacare!

I’ve been looking at Cigna Global and HTH among others. Anyone out there have experience with international health plans, good or bad?

Leave a Reply

